SLHTA Sponsors Saint Lucia Amateur Swimming Association

slhta sponsors slasa

November 5th 2014: The OECS Swimming Championship is just around the corner!

The event commences on Friday 7th November, with swimmers in the pool warming-ups from 3:30pm. Competition begins at 5pm with the 100m Freestyle swim for the 8&Under swimmers, which is followed by the 9 and older swimmers competing for glory in the 400m Free. Then there is a break at 6:30pm for the official opening Ceremony, that will include a March Past of all the Teams – Antigua and Barbuda, British Virgins Islands, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and go course, hosts Saint Lucia. Immediately after the Opening Ceremony is relay time, for an exciting close to the first day of competition.

The excitement continues throughout the week-end, with competition starting at 10am on Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th November.

During Sunday’s training session with the OECS Swim Team, cheque presentations were made by two of the event sponsors. Sanovnik Destang presented a cheque from the SLHTA to SLASA Vice-President, Robert Blanchard, under the watchful eye of OECS Head Coach, Brian Charles, while Eddie Hazell, Managing Director of West Indies Shipping and Trading Company Ltd. also presented his company’s contribution to SLASA Vice President Robert Blanchard, and Coach Brian Charles.

The team continues to train diligently throughout the course of this week in preparation for the event. Head Coach Brian Charles is confident that his team will be a force to be reckoned with this year, and his goal is clear – to have Team Saint Lucia declared the winning team of the OECS Championships for 2014. To date, Grenada has won the Championship 11 times while Saint Lucia has won 12 times, so competition is fierce, but with Antigua and St, Vincent now fielding full teams, it is no longer a battle between the two former champions as the other teams have been developing over the years, and now present some serious competition.

The full Saint Lucia team is as follows:

8 & Under Girls

Naima Hazell – Lightning Aquatics

Jorja Mederick – Racers

8 & Under Boys

D’Andre Blanchard – Lightning Aquatics

Therron Herrelle – Racers

Antoine Destang – Sharks

9 to 10 Girls

Shalini Joseph – Racers

Maya Hilaire – Sharks

Mikaili Charlemagne – Lightning Aquatics

Natalya Guillaume – Sharks

9 to 10 Boys

Ziv Reynolds – Lightning Aquatics

Allandre Cross – Racers

11 to 12 Girls

Eden Crick – Sharks

Katelin Samuel – Sharks

Katie Kyle – Sharks

11 to 12 Boys

Terell Monplaisir – Seajays

Ethan Dyke-Elliot – Seajays

Jayhan Odlum-Sith – Seajays

13 to 14 Girls

Mikaela Casimir – Sharks

Abbie Pultie – Sharks

Zanaii Taylor – Sharks

13 to 14 Boys

Jyasi Daniel – Sharks

Christopher Phillips – Sharks

Omar Alexander – Racers

15 to 17 Girls

Laura Bruce – Sharks

Thalia Bergasse – Seajays

15 to 17 Boys

Mark Emanus – Southern Flying Fish

Stefon Emmanuel – Southern Flying Fish

Jonathan McLennon – Racers

18 & Over Female

Vanessa Eugene – Cobra Adventures

Clare Tenger – Sharks

Shernice Popo – Sports Academy

18 & Over Male

Jordan Augier – Sharks

Jonathan Calderon – Sharks

Michael Louis Fernand – Sharks


Nakeisha Louis – Lightning Aquatics

Matheo Capasso – Sharks

Jamarr Archibald – Seajays

Nicholas McLennon – Racers

Sarah Mayers – Sports Academy

Evelyn Day – Sports Academy

United Kingdom
Travel to

United Kingdom

Quick booking process

Talk to an expert