SLHTA elects New Executive at 60th Anniversary Annual General Meeting

(CASTRIES, Saint Lucia – Friday 1st March 2024) – At its 60th Anniversary Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday, 28th February 2024, the Saint Lucia Hospitality and Tourism Association (SLHTA) welcomed a new Executive Committee to lead the private sector body.

Republic Bank (EC) Limited was the presenting sponsor of the milestone AGM which was held at The Harbor Club, Rodney Bay, Gros Islet under the theme Tourism & Peace – A Sustainable Strategy for Prosperity. Parliamentarians, members of the diplomatic core and representatives of non-governmental organizations and member companies were all in attendance.

Paul Collymore, the Chief Executive Officer of the Landings Resort and Spa was re-elected as President unopposed, whilst Erwin Louisy, owner of Barefoot Holidays was elected as Vice President unopposed. Immediate Past President Karolin Troubetzkoy and Senator Noorani Azeez, Chief Executive Officer of the SLHTA complete the Executive Committee.

The new Executive will serve from 2024 – 2026.

(Left to right) SLHTA CEO Senator Noorani Azeez, Minister for Tourism Hon. Dr. Ernest Hilaire, SLHTA Immediate Past President Karolin Troubetzkoy, CEO and Secretary General of the Caribbean Tourism Organization Mrs. Dona Regis-Prosper, SLHTA President Paul Collymore, SLHTA Vice President Erwin Louisy and outgoing SLHTA 1st VP John Mathurin.

The inspiring feature address was delivered by Mrs. Dona Regis-Prosper, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary General of the Caribbean Tourism Organization. Regis-Prosper, a daughter of the soil, is the first woman to serve in this position at the Caribbean tourism development agency. Minister for Tourism, Investment, Creative Industries, Culture and Information, Hon. Dr. Ernest Hilaire also addressed Wednesday’s gathering. He shared the promising outlook for the industry, and addressed pressing issues including crime and road maintenance. Sanovnik Destang, the President Elect of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association provided stakeholders with his vision for the regional organization and possible areas of collaboration between the two agencies.

The Golden Groove Ballroom was brimming with jubilation and heartfelt emotion as the Association recognized volunteer leaders and industry stalwarts for their years of dedicated service to Saint Lucia’s hospitality industry. Chairman of the SLHTA’s Tourism Enhancement Fund Winston Anderson was first in line, and he received a Crystal Award for his stellar leadership of the Association’s philanthropic arm.

Living SLHTA Past Presidents Gregory Glace (1981-1982), Peter Kouly (1984-1986), Craig Bernard (1988-1990), Noel Cadasse (1994-1996), Richard Michelin (1992-1994), Anthony Bowen (1996-1997), Berthia Parle MBE (1999-2003), Hon. Allen Chastanet (2005-2006), Colin Hunte (2006-2009), Karolin Troubetzkoy (2010-2016 & 2018-2021) and Sanovnik Destang (2016-2018) received a commemorative medal and plaque. Additionally, five industry stalwarts Esmay Fletcher, Heidi St. Clair, Gilland Adjodha, Paul John and Lennox Dupal were also gifted plaques.

(Left to right) SLHTA CEO Senator Noorani Azeez, Republic Bank (EC) Limited Managing Director  Tracy-Anne Bartholomew, CEO and Secretary General of the Caribbean Tourism Organization Mrs. Dona Regis-Prosper, Minister for Tourism Hon. Dr. Ernest Hilaire and SLHTA President Paul Collymore.

The AGM featured a Manufacturers Tradeshow, a staple at the Association’s meetings, offering local entrepreneurs an incredible opportunity to network and showcase their businesses.

As the Association continues to celebrate 60 years of progress, we reaffirm our commitment to not only the prosperity of our tourism industry, but to the peace and safety of our communities. Let us work hand in hand, across all sectors, to build a legacy of peace, prosperity and sustainable development for generations to come.

United Kingdom
Travel to

United Kingdom

Quick booking process

Talk to an expert